Home > Uncategorized > Steve Hunt’s Free eBook for Security Managers

Steve Hunt’s Free eBook for Security Managers

May 28, 2016

Playbook

When I asked many of you, my peers in IT, if it would be helpful to have a playbook for security management like those used by the best quarterbacks or midfielders or point guards (pick your sport!), many of you said yes right away, but then asked what it would look like.

“You mean like the SANS Top 20?” one might ask.

“You mean like OWASP?” another would say.

As downright useful as both of those sets of recommendations are, that’s not what I meant. I’m thinking more along the lines of a guide for security executives, security directors. A management guide.

“Oh, you mean like Peter Drucker’s The Practice of Management, or Steven Covey’s 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.”

That’s warmer. Both of those books help to build necessary management skills. It was then that I realized that there really isn’t a business handbook for security managers.

Therefore, I’ve started to put one together based on my interdisciplinary security management course that I’ve taught for some years at DePaul University. I call it The Security Manager’s Playbook: A Leader’s Guide to Optimizing Cyber Security for any Business

Click here to download an abridged version for Free. Yes, I want the free eBook

Categories: Uncategorized
