Home > DreamerGear, First Look, InfoSec > DreamerGear: Yoggie Pico Rectifies Previous Peccadillos in a Tight Little Package

DreamerGear: Yoggie Pico Rectifies Previous Peccadillos in a Tight Little Package

DreamerGear Evaluation: Yoggie Pico Pro v. 5.1.0

I have purchased six, count ‘em, 6, Bluetooth headsets. Why? I bust them or lose them. But I keep buying them because while I have
one, it is so darned useful. Little,
functional, très cool – I gotta have it. I feel the same way about my Yoggie Pico Pro™.Yoggie_pico
I would have published this review the day
the product was released… I had received
one of the first ones that day and installed it before lunchtime. I even showed it off at a conference where I
was speaking, and showed how so much security could fit so neatly in my jacket pocket
when I packed up and headed to the airport. But by the time I got off the plane the little Yoggie was no where to be
found.  Just 36 short hours of Yoggie
enjoyment.  Ugh.

Name and Version of
Product
Yoggie Pico Pro™ 5.1.0

Manufacturer and
Website
Yoggie Security Systems http://www.yoggie.com/

Type of Product  Endpoint Security – Security Appliance

Uses  Protecting laptops and PCs

What We Loved Offloading security to a tiny USB appliance

What We Didn’t Frightfully easy to lose

Price $199.

Overall Rating 4.5 out of 545_guards_3

Quick Replacement

So I got a new one. And love it. Functionally it is a
lot like my first Yoggie, the Gatekeeper Pro™ which I evaluated earlier this
year
. It combines firewall, VPN, intrusion
detection, intrusion prevention, anti-virus, anti-spam, a web and FTP proxy,
and protections against other baddies like spyware, phishing and Trojan
horses. All this packed in a device
about the size of a standard thumb drive.

The Yoggie products are a step up from ZoneAlarm by Check
Point or Norton Internet Security from Symantec in security, but a set down in
convenience. ZoneAlarm and Norton are
software based solutions running on the computer all the time. You can’t misplace software – but it also
takes up resources on your computer and potentially drags down performance.

Fast & Secure

Network throughput with the Pico rivals the Gatekeeper with
exceptional throughput and no detectable slowdown in network response
times. In fact, with the Yoggie handling
email and web scanning, Internet response times actually increased.

I complained in my review of the Gatekeeper Pro that it should
be a PC card instead of a USB device. The Pico is a prodigious step toward the smaller and more “integrated”
form factor, but it is still a bit too fat. I can’t fit another memory stick in the USB port next to it. A future version really ought to be a PC card
that stays with the PC. I’d also like to see the price for consumers closer to
$100.

 

  1. Sal
    September 3, 2014 at 9:49 am

    Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this
    content together. I once again find myself personally
    spending way too much time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. October 7, 2014 at 8:25 am

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

